An American Sunday in A’Dam

I love living abroad, but sometimes miss the Sunday Funday’s I used to have in NYC with my friends.  Some Sunday’s were “healthy”:  run a 5 or 10k race in Central Park and then ingest twice the calories at brunch that we had just burned off.  Other’s were “holier”:  morning mass at the neighborhood church and then off to any bar that was televising the Saints football game (not always an easy find in NYC or Hoboken).  And in the summertime when it was too hot for a run and too early for football watching, we could easily make a marathon day out of eating and drinking.  Really.

I was thrilled when I heard about the Sunday pop-up brunch in Amsterdam called lovefood; click here to check it out.  I went once in the spring and have been eager to return.  Jason Hartley, an Englishman living in Amsterdam for 10+ years is a consultant during the week and a chef during the weekend cooking up a fantastic brunch and satisfying tummies of all cultures.  It’s a solid brunch menu with my favorite brunch beverage, the Bloody Mary.  Lovefood has had several pop-up homes in A’Dam and is currently serving up Sunday’s in the canal ring on the Prinsengracht.  Today was the 2-year celebration for lovefood which featured a special birthday pop-up at Tommy Hilfiger’s People’s Place; a new restaurant/bar/event space which  is exclusive to TH’s staff and business customers.

 

 

J at the Bloody Bar

Me and J mix our Bloodys

super lekker bloodys

Proost with J & E

With beverages in hand, it was time to order.  I love breakfast food.  And I appreciate the American breakfast more now that it is not at my disposal.  While my mom can make some fabulous dinners, I loved when we were in need of a trip to the grocery,  and she made breakfast for dinner because somehow there always seemed to be enough eggs, hash browns, bacon, sausage or biscuits for a satisfying meal.

My patient friends can attest to the fact that I could never make up my mind when time came to place my brunch order.  Sweet or savory, sweet or savory?   Which begs the follow up question, ‘mimosa or bloody, mimosa or bloody?’.   Fortunately lovefood’s menu is equipped for i-want-my-cake-and-it-eat-too people like me.  It’s called The Full Mikey.  (catchy, eh?)  And this morning I was Mikey and I would eat anything, anything that Jason Hartely was cooking.

The Full Mikey

The Full Veggie & Eggs Florentine

Complimentary birthday cupcakes

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

A few hours later it was time to change gears.  The NFL championship games were on and I was ready to support my Packer friends.  I had a gold scarf, but lacked a single article of hunter green to show my support for the cheese heads.  J had plenty of green in stock and happily loaned me a green shirt and dubbed me an honorary Packer fan for the night.  We are 7 hours ahead of U.S. CST, but found an Aussie bar in Rembrandtplein showing not only the Packers/Bears game, but the Jets/Steelers game as well as long as you were in the door by midnight.  It proved to be a game worth staying up late for.  I’m tempted to find a cheesehead hat for the big game.  After all, this is Holland…land of kaas.  Veel success to the Packers in two weeks!

Happy Fans!

Game Over!

 

One thought on “An American Sunday in A’Dam

Leave a Reply

